guides

Free Days at Your Favorite Colorado Venues

Updated for 2021

By Kyrie Collins, Highlands Ranch-Parker-Castle Rock-Lone Tree Publisher December 30, 2020

Colorado residents can enjoy FREE DAYS at some of our area's most popular destinations, thanks to SCFD funding as well as state and corporate sponsorship. Free Days are for general admission; special events and exhibitions may still require the purchase of a ticket.

A SPECIAL NOTE: Families who receive Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits can visit select venues anytime throughout the year and pay just $1 per person (up to 10 family members) when they show their EBT card. Admission can not be paid with the EBT card; it is simply proof of program participation.

Venues offering $1 admission for SNAP recipients are Children's Museum of Denver at Marsico Campus, Denver Botanic Gardens, Denver Museum of Nature & Science, and History Colorado Center.


Dates are subject to change without notice; confirm with the venue prior to your visit.





Children's Museum of Denver at Marsico Campus
2121 Children's Museum Dr., Denver | (303) 433-7444
4:00–8:00 PM only

  • Free Days are on hold due to COVID-19

Colorado Railroad Museum
17155 W. 44th Ave., Golden | (303) 279-4591

  • Thursday, March 18
  • Thursday, May 13
  • Thursday, October 7


Denver Art Museum
100 W. 14th Ave. Pkwy., Denver | (720) 913-0130
Children 18 years and younger are free EVERY day of the year!

  • Free Days are on hold due to COVID-19


Denver Botanic Gardens
1007 York St., Denver | (720) 865-3500

  • Free Days are on hold due to COVID-19


Denver Botanic Gardens at Chatfield
8500 Deer Creek Canyon Rd., Littleton | (720) 865-4346

  • Free Days are on hold due to COVID-19


Denver Firefighters Museum
1326 Tremont Pl., Denver | (303) 892-1436

  • Free Days are on hold due to COVID-19




Denver Museum of Nature & Science
2001 Colorado Blvd., Denver | (303) 370-6000

The Museum is currently operating under limited capacity due to COVID-19. We encourage you to check back before every Free Day for the latest recommendations and reserve your tickets in advance.

  • Monday, January 4
  • Sunday, January 24
  • Monday, February 8 (Darwin Day)
  • Sunday, February 28
  • Sunday, April 25 (Día del Niño)
  • Sunday, May 23 (Space Day)
  • Wednesday, June 30 (5:00-9:00 PM only)
  • Wednesday, August 11 (5:00-9:00 PM only)
  • Wednesday, September 1 (5:00-9:00 PM only)
  • Monday, September 20
  • Monday, October 4 (LGBTQ Community Day)
  • Saturday, November 6 (Denver Arts Week: Night at the Museum)
  • Monday, December 6


Denver Zoo
2300 Steele St., Denver | (720) 337-1400

On select "Share the Love Days," the Zoo is giving 125 FREE TICKET VOUCHERS for every 15-minute admission window. Vouchers are available during a 3-day lottery period, starting 10 days prior to the admission date. Visit denverzoo.org/Free-Days for more details and to register.

  • Free Day: Saturday, January 16 | Lottery: January 6-8
  • Free Day: Sunday, February 7 | Lottery: January 28-30


Dinosaur Ridge
16831 W. Alameda Pkwy., Morrison | (303) 697-3466
 Admission to the exhibit hall Trek Through Time is free; guided bus tours are available at a reduced rate of $8 for adults and $6 for children.

  • Free Days are on hold due to COVID-19




Four Mile Historic Park
715 S. Forest St., Denver | (720) 865-0800

  • Friday, January 8
  • Friday, February 12
  • Friday, March 12
  • Friday, April 9
  • Friday, May 14
  • Friday, June 11
  • Friday, July 9
  • Friday, August 13
  • Friday, September 10
  • Friday, October 8
  • Friday, November 12
  • Friday, December 10


History Colorado Center
1200 Broadway, Denver | (303) 447-8679

  • Sunday, April 25 (Día del Niño)
  • Sunday, August 1 (Colorado Day)
  • Saturday, November 6 (Denver Arts Week: Night at the Museum)


Plains Conservation Center
21901 E. Hampden Ave., Aurora | (303) 739-7160

A joint effort by the City of Aurora and Denver Botanic Gardens.

  • Free Days are on hold due to COVID-19

Looking for something different to do today?

There are several Colorado museums and venues that are open for FREE to visitors (every day!) throughout the year. 

Visit our Free Museums, Galleries, and Visitor Centers Guide for more information.